Starting fall 2026, the F-1 student visa is no longer issued for the full length of a study program but for a maximum of 4 years, after which it must be renewed with a new set of documents.

In short

  • The F-1 visa is now capped at 4 years instead of renewing automatically for the whole program — programs longer than 4 years require a separate renewal application.
  • Post-study OPT (1 or 3 years) is not affected by the new F-1 time limit.
  • Yale, Harvard, Stanford, Penn, and Cornell again require the SAT or ACT for admission starting in 2026.
  • Yale, Harvard, and Princeton raised financial aid income thresholds: below $100,000 income means zero cost, below $200,000 means tuition is covered.
  • In France, as of August 1, 2026, the minimum living-cost amount for students rose from €615 to €877.50 a month.

What changed with the F-1 student visa in 2026

The US student visa is now issued for a maximum of 4 years — previously there was no time limit at all. Students received an F-1 visa once and it renewed automatically for the entire length of their studies: move up to a new course level, and the visa carried on by itself, with no extra steps or paperwork.

move up to a new course level, and the visa carried on by itself, with no extra steps or paperwork

Now, once the 4 years run out, the visa has to be renewed separately — with a full set of documents, not automatically at the next stage of study. For a student this means an extra administrative step in the middle of their studies: gathering documents and applying for renewal if the program runs longer than four years.

F-1 student visa validity period

How F-1 visa renewal rules changed after the 2026 reform.

  • Visa validity period
  • Renewal when moving to a new course level
Key change

F-1 no longer renews automatically for the whole length of a study program: the visa is now valid for a maximum of 4 years, after which a separate renewal application is required.

Why the student visa was limited to 4 years

The limit was introduced to curb abuse of student status: some applicants stayed in the US for years, technically enrolled as students but not actually progressing toward a real degree. The pattern looked like this — an applicant would arrive for a course, then sign up for another English course, then another, stretching their stay for a decade without ever enrolling in a full program.

an applicant would arrive for a course, then sign up for another English course, then another, stretching their stay for a decade without ever enrolling in a full program

The new requirement to reconfirm status every 4 years is meant to cut off exactly this kind of use of the F-1 visa — as a way of staying in the country long-term under the guise of studying. Instead of getting a visa once for the whole program, a student now has to periodically prove they’re still pursuing a genuine, extended course of study rather than stacking courses one after another.

How the new time limit lines up with programs and OPT

For the vast majority of students, the four-year cap matches the length of the program itself, so in practice nothing changes. A US bachelor’s degree usually takes 4 years, a master’s is typically shorter; a PhD often takes longer than four years, and it’s exactly for programs like this that renewing the visa becomes a separate step.

The one group for whom the limit creates a real constraint is students with unfinished coursework. Previously, a university could let an undergraduate stay an extra semester or year to clear outstanding requirements. The new visa limit no longer allows that kind of extension in the same way.

If a program is genuinely longer — say, a 5-year dual degree, or a student stays back a year for another reason — the visa isn’t automatically voided. After 4 years, a new set of documents must be filed showing what has changed in the study plan, after which renewal goes through without complications.

OPT (Optional Practical Training) is not affected by the new rule at all: the option to stay in the US after graduation for 1 or 3 years remains exactly as it was.

Unfinished coursework

Previously a university could extend an undergraduate’s studies by a semester or a year to clear outstanding requirements. The new visa limit no longer allows this kind of extension.

SAT and ACT are back: which universities require them

Yale changed its admissions policy in May 2026 and again requires the SAT or ACT from applicants. The same requirement applies at Harvard, Stanford, the University of Pennsylvania, and Cornell. After the pandemic, many applicants got used to the idea that a test could be skipped entirely — starting fall 2026, that advice can lead straight to a serious mistake in the application.

There’s no universal rule here, though. According to industry observers, only a small minority of universities required a standardized test in the previous admissions cycle. At the same time, there are schools where the SAT is mandatory, where it’s optional, and where a school runs its own separate policy — the trend is that the number of universities bringing back mandatory testing, especially among top-tier schools, is growing faster than the number dropping it.

Even where the test is technically mandatory, the rules aren’t identical:

  • Harvard requires the SAT or ACT; according to available information, exceptions are possible for applicants who genuinely cannot access these exams — but this detail is worth confirming directly on Harvard’s admissions office website before applying.
  • Princeton — according to available information, considers requests for a waiver from the SAT or ACT in cases of serious obstacles, such as no accessible test center or financial hardship, but this should be confirmed on the official admissions page.

The lack of a test center in an applicant’s home country can itself explain why no test score exists — for example, there are no SAT test centers in Russia, and most students travel to Kazakhstan or other countries to take it. But this is an explanation, not an advantage: not having a test result where most other applicants do makes it harder to compare an applicant against the competition and raises the risk of rejection in favor of those who showed readiness with a score.

Check your school’s requirements

There’s no single rule on SAT/ACT: some schools require it, others don’t, and some run their own policy. Confirm the specific university’s requirements before applying.

Financial aid for international students: Yale, Harvard, Princeton

Starting with the 2026/2027 academic year, Yale significantly expanded financial aid — alongside bringing back mandatory SAT/ACT, the university made a move in favor of lower-income families. For families with an annual income below $100,000, Yale states zero cost: aid covers tuition, housing, meals, and a number of other expenses. For income below $200,000, grants cover at least the cost of tuition itself.

Yale states that the expanded aid applies regardless of a student’s citizenship, but the exact terms for international applicants (need-blind status, 100% of need covered) are worth confirming directly on Yale’s financial aid page — official materials describe this policy primarily in terms of American families. The new income thresholds — $100,000 and $200,000 — are noticeably higher than those previously used in similar Ivy League programs. It’s also specified that requesting financial aid is not treated as a negative in the application review — unlike at universities where simply making such a request counts against an applicant.

A similar system is in place at other Ivy League schools. Harvard officially gives international students access to the same aid system as Americans: families with income below $100,000 pay no parental contribution, and at income below $200,000, aid covers at least tuition. Princeton also considers international applicants without regard to their ability to pay and promises to cover 100% of admitted students’ calculated financial need.

Universities fall into two models regarding international students:

  • Need-blind — an applicant’s financial situation has no bearing on their admission chances: income documents are reviewed separately from the application and only factor in after the admission decision is made.
  • Need-aware — an applicant’s financial situation becomes one of the factors in the admission decision itself.

Among Ivy League schools, it’s precisely the new $100,000 and $200,000 thresholds combined with a need-blind policy that make admission to these schools noticeably more affordable for international students.

Financial aid for international students at Ivy League universities

Table scrolls sideways

ConditionYaleHarvardPrinceton
Zero-cost thresholdIncome below $100,000 — tuition, housing, meals freeIncome below $100,000 — no parental contributionNot specified separately
Tuition-coverage thresholdIncome below $200,000 — tuition covered at minimumIncome below $200,000 — tuition covered at minimumNot specified separately
Citizenship considered in admissionStates expanded aid regardless of citizenship; details for international students to be confirmed on siteSame aid system as for AmericansConsiders international applicants without regard to ability to pay
Effect of aid request on admission decisionNot treated as a drawbackNot specified in sourceNot specified in source

Data reflects the source article; international applicants should confirm details on each university’s official pages.

The new TOEFL iBT format: adaptive test, new scale

As of January 2026, the TOEFL iBT has changed: it’s this new version of the exam that’s used for fall-cycle applicants. The Reading and Listening sections now run in an adaptive format — questions adjust to the test-taker’s level, and the content of the tasks has changed as well.

Results are now reported on a new 1-to-6 scale, tied to the European CEFR system. Until January 2028, ETS will keep showing a comparable score on the familiar 0–120 scale as well — so the transition period allows both scores to be cross-checked.

The main change isn’t the scale — it’s the test mechanics. The difficulty of the second section depends on how the first one went: the fewer mistakes made in the first section, the harder the second section gets, and the higher the final score if it’s completed well. If the first section has a lot of errors, the second section becomes easier, but the maximum possible score also becomes unreachable, even with a flawless second section. That’s why most preparation effort should go into the first section — it’s what sets the ceiling on the final score.

the fewer mistakes made in the first section, the harder the second section gets, and the higher the final score if it’s completed well

Universities are already adjusting their requirements to the new scale. Carnegie Mellon lists 5.0 as the minimum competitive score and 5.5 as the recommended one.

Focus on the first section

On the new adaptive TOEFL, the result of the first section sets the ceiling on your final score — that’s where preparation effort should be concentrated.

Changes for UK admissions: the new UCAS format

In the UK’s UCAS system, the single personal statement essay has been replaced with a new structure of three separate questions. The overall character limit stays the same — 4,000 characters — but now it has to be split across three specific answers instead of one continuous piece of writing.

The first question asks why the applicant wants to study their chosen subject and how their previous education has prepared them for it. The second question is also about the chosen course of study. The third question asks what the applicant does outside of academics to prepare for their chosen field.

In substance, the requirements haven’t become any softer: universities still want to see interest and preparedness from applicants, but now that’s asked for directly, through specific questions, rather than through an open-ended essay. In the old open personal statement it was easy to drift off topic; now three clear questions impose a structure that’s harder to stray from, which also lowers the risk of writing a weak essay.

Starting fall 2026, document submission in UCAS has also changed: documents can now be uploaded directly into the application instead of waiting for a separate request from the university after applying. This covers certificates, transcripts, and proof of English proficiency. Previously, universities requested a significant portion of these documents separately, after the application had already been submitted — for applicants from other countries, the process is now more centralized.

Financial requirements for a French student visa

As of August 1, 2026, France changed the financial requirement for its student visa. An international student now needs to show a minimum of €877.50 for each month of stay — previously the requirement was €615 a month. Over 12 months, the required amount of proven funds has risen to roughly €10,500 a year.

This money isn’t tuition and has nothing to do with the cost of studies. The requirement confirms that a student can support themselves while living in France: food, housing, everyday expenses. That’s why judging affordability by tuition cost alone no longer works — this pocket-money amount needs to be budgeted separately.

The logic behind the change is straightforward: funds confirmed in advance lower the risk of a student running out of money for food or rent mid-semester. But the requirement has a downside too — not everyone can show the full year’s amount upfront or prove a stable income for every individual month.

Financial requirement for a French student visa

The minimum living-cost amount a student must prove.

  • Amount per month
  • Amount per year
New living-cost amount

As of August 1, 2026, France requires proof of at least €877.50 a month — about €10,500 a year — separate from tuition costs.

Frequently asked questions

What happens if a student doesn’t renew their F-1 visa before the 4 years run out?

The visa isn’t automatically voided if the program is genuinely longer than four years — for example, with a 5-year dual degree or a delay into an extra year. After 4 years, a new set of documents must be filed showing what has changed in the study plan. After that, renewal goes through without complications, but the paperwork needs to be filed in advance, not after the fact.

Can you get into a university at all without SAT or ACT scores?

There’s no universal rule: some schools require the test, some don’t require it at all, and some run their own flexible policy. Even where the SAT is technically mandatory, as at Harvard or Princeton, exceptions exist for serious obstacles — such as no test center or financial hardship. But that’s an exception that needs to be confirmed separately, not a general waiver of the test.

Do all three UCAS questions need to be answered in equal detail?

The overall character limit for all three answers combined is 4,000 characters, but the rules don’t set a specific split between the questions. The first and second questions relate to the chosen subject of study, the third to activities outside academics, so the length naturally depends on what the applicant actually has to say on each topic. The focus should be on substance, not on dividing characters equally.